Longhorns alumni ready for NFL Playoffs

AUSTIN, Texas – The journey to Super Bowl LVI begins Saturday as the NFL playoffs begin with 14 former Longhorns vying to continue the Super Bowl legacy that the University of Texas has established.

This weekend, eight Longhorns are expected to appear on active rosters representing seven teams. This group includes LB Jordan Hicks and QB Colt McCoy of the Arizona Cardinals, OL Trey Hopkins of the Cincinnati Bengals, OL Connor Williams of the Dallas Cowboys, DE Alex Okafor of the Kansas City Chiefs, CB Adrian Phillips of the New England Patriots, DT Hassan Ridgeway of the Philadelphia Eagles and DL Charles Omenihu of the San Francisco 49ers. Additionally, Kyle Shanahan will occupy the sideline as the 49ers head coach alongside special teams coordinator Richard Hightower. The Bengals’ roster also includes LB Joseph Ossai, who has been injured throughout the season due to a knee injury.

Several Longhorns represent teams with first-round byes in the playoffs, including RB D’Onta Foreman, WR Marcus Johnson and TE Geoff Swaim of the Tennessee Titans, and Green Bay Packers defensive backs coach Jerry Gray.

Texas has also had at least one rep in each of the last 16 Super Bowls, the longest streak in UT history. There have been 27 former Longhorns to claim a Super Bowl championship ring, while 63 have been members of 52 different Super Bowl teams, including Okafor, who has been on the Chiefs’ roster for the past two Super Bowls.

saturday january 15
(5) Las Vegas Raiders vs. (4) Cincinnati Bengals, 3:30 p.m. CT (NBC)
(6) New England Patriots at (3) Buffalo Bills, 7:15 p.m. CT (CBS)

Sunday January 16
(7) Philadelphia Eagles at (2) Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 12:00 p.m. CT (FOX)
(6) San Francisco 49ers at (3) Dallas Cowboys, 3:30 p.m. CT (CBS)
(7) Pittsburgh Steelers vs. (2) Kansas City Chiefs, 7:15 p.m. CT (NBC)

monday january 17
(5) Arizona Cardinals vs. (4) Los Angeles Rams, 7:15 p.m. CT (ABC/ESPN)

Leave a Comment